I love salsa!

It finally happened: I now love salsa. πŸ™‚

Sunday Afternoon Salsa 2011

Me a year ago, when I used to love bachata more than salsa.

Last year, I posted this photo of me taken at Sunday Afternoon Salsa in Robson Square on my Facebook wall with the caption “I love (bachata more than) salsa." Back then, my salsa dancing consisted entirely of following, so I found that salsa was actually getting to be a bit boring.

This weekend, salsa for the first time displaced all other dances as my favourite dance (beating out rueda, zouk, and European bachata!) because I now know enough moves to make it interesting.

I only danced for at Robson Square for 45 minutes yesterday, but it was possibly the best salsa dancing experience I have ever had. I got to practice moves from Levels 3, 4, 5, and 6, as well as throw in some of the new styling I have been learning. (It feels great to finally be able to get into and out of a syncopation properly! I finally learned how to do them this week, after wanting to learn them for months.)

Like I mentioned in my last post on salsa styling, the ability to style really does make a huge difference in the look, feel, and fun factor of dancing. Yesterday, even when I danced with guys who put me through the same three moves over and over and over again, I was able to stick in some Level 4 and 5 styling to make the dances interesting rather than boring.

The contrast was especially apparent to me yesterday because I did some outdoor swing dancing just before the salsa, and found myself longing to learn how to stick in the kicks, twists, and styling that really make swing a blast to dance. You can only have so much fun with the basic step and following. I picked up a lot of new moves from some good swing leads, but it just doesn’t compare to taking lessons so you can know what you are doing and execute your moves with finesse. My studio used to offer swing lessons, but I only got the chance to take one of the classes. 😦 I hope it will be offered again one day, along with West Coast Swing and Blues dancing.

As much as I love learning the basic step and just going with it, I feel that it is definitely worth moving onwards and upwards to higher levels in dancing. As the moves get more complex, it actually makes dancing easier, because I actually understand what my partners want me to do, and enjoy myself more because of it.

I’m so happy to be able to learn all such an enormous amount of moves at my dance studio, World Dance Co. I don’t think there is another studio in Vancouver where you can learn so many salsa moves so quickly and easily. I can’t wait to keep learning and learning! πŸ˜€

Sunday Afternoon Salsa 2012

Me now, loving salsa. πŸ˜€

Leave a comment

Filed under Salsa Dancing

Leave a Reply

