Hasta la vista, high heels!

high heel feet

Poor feet, being put through this every day. Starting today, I’m going to be kinder to them!

A random decision I made to not wear my high heels to my Salsa Level 3 and 4 classes has turned into a new dance challenge: I’m going to attempt to take Salsa Level 3 (the advanced level) in sneakers for the whole two-month term. This means I’ll need to learn how to do all my spins without the benefit of my regular heels or suede-soled ballroom ones.

I figure these will be good skills to have for outdoor/street salsa dancing. I’ve done quite a a bit of it this summer, and I think I need to get used to dancing with different types of footwear on different surfaces. One of the dancers in my dance studio’s professional dance troupe, Grupo America, can dance salsa in flip flops on the street. :O

I already have some experience in spinning with sneakers on pavement from doing practice spins while waiting for my bus. I think I got up to double spins with LA preps and wizard spin preps.

I was originally planning on taking Levels 3 and 4 without my heels, but I still need to work on adding styling to my free spins, which will be too difficult to do if I have to put too much thought into the free spin portion. I’ve taken Salsa Level 3 two times already, but Salsa Level 4 only once (and had to skip some classes).

I’m going to take Levels 1 and 2 as a lead this time. 🙂 I hope Level 2 doesn’t kill me, because I think I don’t yet have my fingers right for leading good spins. I’ll be wearing sneakers for these classes also, but that’s really no big deal.

Hopefully I will be able to reverse the effects of all the heel-wearing I have been doing these past few months. From now on, I’m going to reserve my heel-wearing for Salsa Levels 4, 5, and 6 and Flamenco, and maybe Argentine Tango, Cha Cha, and West Coast Swing.

I’ll leave you with a photo of the first (and last) pair of stilettos I ever bought, that I only ended up wearing once because they hurt too much, and because I have no idea where they went. 😛

hot red stilettos

Can you believe I managed to ballroom dance for three straight hours in these? My calves were DESTROYED for the rest of the week. 😛

7 Comments

Filed under Dance Progess, Salsa Dancing

7 responses to “Hasta la vista, high heels!

  1. After getting dance shoes, I do not know how I managed to dance in high heels as well. I tell you… it burned!

  2. LoL. There is a benefit to wearing heels for salsa. At the higher levels, even men wear heels (some of us call them cuban heels and they look like manly leather shoes–with a 0.5″ to 1.5″ heel). Heels help you keep the weight of your body over the balls of your feet, and that is better for your dancing. Sneakers and flats actually do the opposite: they move your weight onto your heel and that’s bad. So it’s not a heels vs. no-heels argument, but rather a no-10″-heels argument.

    Here’s are really crazy, though: If you want a happy medium, dance barefoot. Human naturally move on the balls of their feet when barefoot. And a lot of pros dance with those special dance shoes that are basically mimic bare feet and just protect the sole of the heels and balls of the feet. It won’t do in most social dancing situations but I think you should be able to get away with it in class.

    • Haha, I don’t think my teacher or the other students would let me get away with dancing with bare feet. Many already think I am strange for taking my classes in sneakers. Remind me at FUSE to take off my socks and try dancing in bare feet with you. 😉

      I always dance on the balls of my feet — it’s automatic now — so I don’t really need heels to remind me to stay on them. Higher heels tend to just put me more off-balance than other shoes.

      How high are your heels?

Leave a Reply

